Zoe’s Crochet Owl Hat

Crocheted Owl Hat I made for Baby Zoe.

This weekend I was busy making a few things for the impending birth of baby Zoe. The first one I am going to show off is this adorable owl hat. I bought this crochet hat pattern from RAKJpatterns’ shop on Etsy for $3.99. I modified the pattern slightly to my own tastes, but it turned out so cute that I made a second hat for my friend Teresa’s baby girl, Ryli. Next up I am making one for Max with blue and green accent colors. He’s excited and I can’t wait to see him and Zoe together with their matching hats.

Zoe and Ryli's Owl Hats

Zoe and Ryli's Owl Hats.

3 thoughts on “Zoe’s Crochet Owl Hat

  1. Hi!

    I just bought this pattern from RAKJpatterns’ and I’m having big problems with it. My gauge doesn’t match hers, and no matter what I do, larger or smaller hook, I can’t fix it! Your hats are so cute and turned out sooo well!! I’m trying to make this hat for a little girl whose head circumference is 19 inches.

    Dana

    • Hi Dana,

      I had a little bit of a problem with the pattern at first. I am just use to really explanatory simple patterns. I was confused at first by the difference of 2sc and sc 2. After I figured that out it went better. I do think that I had to do a couple of extra rows to get it to the circumference that I needed because my guage was off a little too. I used a 4 ply COTTON yarn. It is the dishcloth weight. Hope that helps! Let me know how it goes.

      Amanda

  2. This pattern is a little odd, definitely not what I’m used to, but it was easy to get the hang of it. I just can’t get it the right size. I’ve come to the conclusion that the author of the pattern must crochet very tightly. Once things have settled down after the holidays I’m going to try it again.

Leave a Reply

